Tuesday, August 16, 2022
HomeTravelADTOI EC decides to hold association’s elections on August 6, ET TravelWorld...

ADTOI EC decides to hold association’s elections on August 6, ET TravelWorld News, ET TravelWorld

ADTOI EC decides to hold association’s elections on August 6The Association of Domestic Tour Operators of India (ADTOI) has announced the schedule for its upcoming elections to select the management team for the next term. Announcing August 6 as the date of the election, the association which comprises tour operators and travel agents dealing with domestic tours said that Advocate Varun Chandiok will be the Returning Officer to conduct the election proceedings in a free, fair, and peaceful manner.
The elections, which were postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic last year, will elect the 13th Management Committee of the association comprising six office bearers and eight managing committee members.

Last year in September, the association, in its General House Meeting, postponed the elections and decided to extend the term of the present team amidst the pandemic situation as members also wanted to focus on streamlining business, recovering losses and promoting domestic tourism in the country.

The Tour operators are hoping that their concerted lobbying with concerned ministries to remove the cascading effect of taxes on the inbound operators will bear fruit this time around. The current GST rate of 5 percent without set-offs, the industry argues, is structurally flawed as it implies that tour operators have an inbuilt margin of around 28% in every package they sell.

Confirming the update, PP Khanna, President, ADTOI in conversation with ETTravelWorld said that more updates regarding the election will be announced later this week. “The MC will meet on July 7 or 8 to discuss arrangements for the elections and deliberate on candidates and campaigns. The eligibility of the candidates who have shown interest will also be discussed,” he said.Constituted in 1996, ADTOI has over 850 members (both active and allied) based across Pan-India. Among other office bearers apart from Khanna, Rajesh Arya is the current Vice President while Chetan Gupta, Dalip Gupta, and Anil K Rajpur are serving as the Honorary Secretary-General, Treasurer and Joint Secretary of the association respectively. The current EC Members include – Ashish Chander Sehgal, Manoj Varshney, Ekta Vatts, Neetish Gupta, Rajeev Sobti, Siddharth Jain, Ved Khanna, and Vishal Bhatia.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments